East African Digital Health Initiative

The Digital REACH Initiative roadmap details the plan for coordinating regional action to improve health outcomes across the East African Community (EAC) through the creation of a robust enabling environment for digital health and the implementation of strategic regional digital health programs. The EAC is a regional intergovernmental organization of six partner states: the Republic of Burundi, the Republic of Kenya, the Republic of Rwanda, the Republic of South Sudan, the United Republic of Tanzania, and the Republic of Uganda.

The roadmap was developed through a region-led process, facilitated by Vital Wave. A series of in-depth stakeholder consultations were held, with collaboration and input from representatives of each of the EAC Partner States. The roadmap was approved by the EAC Sectoral Council of Ministers of Health in November 2017 and then moved into strategic planning for its implementation. For more information, see below.

Download the Digital REACH Initiative Two-page Summary

Download the Digital REACH Initiative Roadmap FAQs 

Download the Digital REACH Initiative Infographic

Download the Digital REACH Initiative Roadmap

Back to All Case Studies